Blog using the drip approach

Seth Godin got me thinking with his recent post about writer’s block:

Writer’s block was ‘invented’ in the 1940s. Before that, not only wasn’t there a word for it, it hardly existed. The reason: writing wasn’t a high stakes venture. Writing was a hobby, it was something you did in your spare time, without expecting a big advance or a spot on the bestseller list.

My writer’s block for not writing so much on this blog is because I want to post interesting and useful things that help people. The problem, of course, is that those type of posts take a lot of time to research and write. And there are still interesting things that I run into every day that I’d like to talk about. So, I’m going to attempt to take Seth Godin’s approach called “the drip”:

Consider the alternative to writer’s block: the drip. A post, day after day, week after week, 400 times a year, 4000 times a decade. When you commit to writing regularly, the stakes for each thing you write go down.

This may sound like I won’t focus on the long interesting posts. But I think it’s the opposite. I believe the act of writing more will get me to want to write about all those interesting topics including the long and short posts.

If you haven’t read the post yet, go get inspired by Seth Godin to write more:

Writer’s block and the drip

Leave a comment